DIY Trinket Holder

I saw a DIY jewelry holder from A Beautiful Mess blog a little while ago and instantly loved it. The only problem with it was that I don’t really wear jewelry! So when I was organizing and decorating my new office/craft space and my son kept getting into my pile of paperclips I knew I had a purpose for this beautiful dish.

Jewelry Dish by A Beautiful Mess

The great thing about these dishes is you can really make them to look any style you want. As you can see, A Beautiful Mess made theirs very high fashion looking. Although I think they are stunning, my style is a little more rustic. So I got colors I liked and made it a little more “rugged.” The end result? I think it looks like a beautiful shell and I couldn’t be happier. In fact, I’m kind of already looking for a reason to make another dish!

Check out the tutorial on A Beautiful Mess’ page and have a go at it for yourself. The only thing I would add is that I cooked my dish at 300 degrees for 30 minutes as opposed to the 275 for 15 minutes which was the¬†recommended cooking time and temperature. It really depends on the heat of your oven since some ovens run hot and some run a little cooler. Play around with it and see what works for you. The type of clay you use should also have cooking directions on the back as a guide. I used Kato Poly Clay which I really liked but it did take a little handling to warm it up and get it movable but you can use whichever one works for you. Good luck and have fun making beautiful things!

Jewelry Dish Tutorial by A Beautiful Mess

http://www.abeautifulmess.com/2014/11/marbled-clay-ring-dish.html

This entry was posted in DIY, Handmade and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

